सनातन धर्म भूमिका

Meaning of "Vedanga / Vedangas >"


Vedanga / Vedangas





In General

Vedangas are six subjects developed to study the deep esoteric knowledge in Vedas. They are called the six limbs of Vedas. Vedangas are primarily language study, logic, science and the like. They are compulsory subjects in Gurukula Education of Indian education system and were developed in most scientific and objective way such that it attracted students from China and Greece and all other part of world to India. The strength of linguistic study, science and mathematics arose wonder to linguist and scientist even today. The six Vedangas are: Shiksha, Chandas, Vyakarana, Nirukta, Jyotisha and Kalpa


Vedangas are class of works appended to the Vedas and without them understanding Vedas are nearly impossible. The importance given to Vedangas illustrate that studying science, logic, and other subject do not destroy religious faith, rather our religion consider these objective knowledge as an helpful tool to study and understand Vedas. A student of modern age who find spirituality and his curriculum at school and colleges as subject extremely oppose to each other may wonder how the subject discussed under Vedanagas came under spirituality in a very respectable position.

Related entries found !

Word Sanskrit IAST In General Veda Purana