सनातन धर्म भूमिका

Meaning of "Yoga , different types>"


Yoga , different types





In General

Yoga is a Spiritual practice which is performed primarily as a means to achieve Moksha, the enlightenment. All the different types of yoga like Karma yoga, Bhakti yoga is intended to effect a reorientation or perfection of man.

Traditionally, Karma Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Jnana Yoga, and Raja Yoga are considered the four main yogas. Apart from these four, there are many other yoga like Kriya yoga, Laya yoga, Mantra yoga. Patanjali define yoga as “chitta vritti nirodhana”. It has got eight steps and is called Ashtanga yoga. Now a days health aspect of yoga have been recognized all over the world. Asana and Pranayama have become very popular among common people and they consider Yoga as Yoga asana alone.

Stretching the body and regulating breath (the prana energy) is basic to yoga. There are many kind of Yoga developed by modern age teachers. All of them take pride in saying that their roots are in Patanjali yoga or Hatha yoga of Hindu origin. Some of the modern age famous yoga are: PowerYoga , AshtangaYoga , FastYoga , Sun PowerYoga , VinyasaYoga , PopYoga

Related entries found !

Word Sanskrit IAST In General Veda Purana